Rainbow Confetti using Distress Oxides

Happy Monday everybody! It’s been drizzling in Bangalore and the weather has become so pleasant, that I got inspired to do a rainbow-themed Birthday card! I am going to play around with VIBGYOR to create confetti on my card using distress oxide inks. I had so much fun doing this, that I ended up making two cards! Read on to find out how I made them…

I picked an A2 sheet from the Tim Holtz Distress watercolor cardstock pack. I pressed each of the Distress Oxide ink pads, separately, onto my craft sheet. I sprayed some water onto them using my spray bottle to activate all the colors. I picked up a color using my paint brush, and flicked it onto my card panel. I repeated this with all the colors, and the result was a colorful confetti! I just love the look of all those pretty colorful dots on my panel.

I die cut the word “happy” from the confetti card panel, using the Lawn Fawn Scripty words-Happy die. I adhered the panel onto a black, top-folding note card. The black shows through the negative portion of the “happy” die cut, but the centers of the alphabets ‘h’ and ‘p’s were missing. So, I placed the positive portion of the “happy” die cut onto the negative portion, and played jigsaw puzzle to adhere only the centers of ‘h’ and ‘p’s onto the note card. I then removed the positive portion of the “happy” die cut. This way I was sure to place those centers at the right spot and in the correct angle.

I die cut three hearts from black cardstock using Lawn Fawn-Hearts die, adhered them onto the panel, and used a fine-tip black gel pen to convert them to balloons. I attached the strings to the letters of “happy”. I stamped a couple of party hats above the ‘p’s, using the Lawn Fawn-So much to Say stamp set. Now I feel as though “happy” is holding up the balloons, and dancing with the party hats! 🙂

Finally, I stamped the “birthday” sentiment and the smiley from Lawn Fawn-Happy Happy Happy stamp set, with Versafine black pigment ink, and used my Spectrum Noir shimmer pen to add some shine to the black areas on my card panel.

Here’s the final result-

IMG_20170313_022029

For my second card, I used Kraft cardstock for the panel. I used the same technique, but stamped different images from Lawn Fawn – So much to Say stamp set.

IMG_20170313_021649

Supplies:
1. Tim Holtz Distress watercolor cardstock
2. Black cardstock - 250 gsm
3. Kraft cardstock
4. Lawn Fawn Scripty words die-Happy
5. Lawn Fawn Stamp-So much to Say
6. Lawn Fawn Stamp-Happy Happy Happy
7. Distress Oxide inks
8. Versafine black pigment ink pad
9. Spectrum Noir Clear shimmer pen
10. Fine tip black gel pen
11. Adhesive

I am playing along with the following challenges:

CFC171 — Rainbows

Casual Fridays

#177 Aud Sentiments 7th Birthday Party!!

Aud Sentiments.png

Mix It Up Challenge #30  (I Played along with the right side, as I was inspired by the rainbow of colors)

Sugar Pea Designs.png

I had so much fun making these, and I hope you found this tutorial fun, simple and inspiring for you to create, too! Would love to read your comments!

Happy Crafting! ♥

11 thoughts on “Rainbow Confetti using Distress Oxides”

Leave a Reply

