Greeting Cards

Shaker card using background die

Hello and welcome to my first blog post! I am so excited to share how I made a shaker card using a background die! Also, stay tuned till the end of the post to check out a variation of the same card, plus a bonus card! Yeayy!!….

I used one of the dies from the Triple layer background die by Gina Marie Designs. Any background die with negative space big enough to fill in sequins, works!

img_20170408_1649451.jpg

I cut the background from a piece of 250 GSM dark brown cardstock using my big-shot machine. The die-cut measures about 4 1/8″ wide by 5 3/8″ tall.

IMG_20170408_165100

I also die cut a piece of foam using the same die and glued it to an A2 ivory note card, which I cut and scored using my Trim and Score Board. The foam creates a small gap (about 2 mm deep) for filling in shaker elements between the card-base and the die-cut cardstock.

IMG_20170408_174217

I glued a piece of acetate sheet to the die-cut cardstock, so that it serves as a see-through window to the sequins, and also helps protect them from falling out.

IMG_20170408_174209

I used the Powder Tool Applicator over the card base and the foam die-cut to remove any static and stickiness from the glue. I then sprinkled my favorite sequins from Madras Bazaar (Midnight Magic) within each diamond-shaped and the triangluar-shaped spaces of the foam piece, and finally glued the die-cut cardstock with the acetate base onto the foam die cut. I made sure to apply the adhesive only on the areas of the acetate directly below the cardstock. Otherwise, the adhesive would show through the acetate. I also made sure to correctly align the cardstock piece to the foam piece to avoid any gaps through which the sequins may fall out. I placed a heavy acrylic block above the card to ensure those pieces stay still while the glue dries.

IMG_20170408_180012

I used the Celebration Script Words – Die to die cut a Thank You sentiment from gold foil cardstock and glued it onto the bottom-front of the card, and embellished with a cute ribbon bow. As a finishing-touch, I added some shimmer onto the die-cut cardstock using my Spectrum Noir clear shimmer pen. It makes the card stand out when exposed to light and is eye-catching! I also glued a couple of sequins on the inside with the help of Crystal Katana (helps in easy pick-up-and-placement of sequins), to tie the card together.

IMG_20170410_090430

Here are few pictures of the card:

Here’s another card I made using the same technique:

Differences to note:

  1. I used the other background die from the same Triple layer background die set by Gina Marie Designs.
  2. I die cut the background twice using red and pink cardstocks and flipped the red background die-cut and pasted above the pink one for a dual-color appearance.
  3. I also used a silver foil for the happy birthday sentiment that I die cut from the same Celebration Script Words – Die.
  4. For the sequins, I used Lovers Quarrel and Peachy Lush from Madras Bazaar.

And, that’s not it! I have bonus card for you, that I made using the scraps from the above two cards! This is a clean and simple birthday-themed card:

I used the cardstock frames I obtained after I die cut the back grounds for the first two cards and combined them for this card. I die cut a rectangular base from the remaining white cardstock using the largest die from Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangles. To add a little interest on the white background within the frame, I created a pattern on it by using the Rug Block Pattern die from Gina Marie designs (you can see this pattern on the third image).

I die cut tiny balloons from the remaining pink and red cardstock using the Party Balloons die from Lawn Fawn and glued them next to the happy birthday sentiment (this sentiment is the same as in the second card).

I glued all of this on a 6 1/2″ * 5 1/4″ note card. This is slightly bigger than an A2 notecard, since I had to accommodate the frame scraps which measure about 5 1/2″ * 4 1/4″. I also trimmed the card on the top and bottom using a pair of Pattern cutting scissors.

SUPPLIES: 
1. Background die 
2. Thank You words die 
3. Midnight Magic sequins 
4. Dark Brown cardstock 
5. Ivory cardstock 
6. Gold foil cardstock 
7. Acetate Sheet
8. Foam Sheet 
9. Brown Satin Ribbon bow 
10. Adhesive 
11. Big Shot machine
12. Cutting Pads- standard
13. Crystal Katana - mixed media pick up tool
14. Powder Tool Applicator
15. Trim and Score Board
16. Spectrum Noir shimmer pen - Clear Overlay
17. Silver Foil cardstock
18. Red cardstock
19. Pink cardstock
20. Lovers Quarrel sequins
21. Peachy Lush sequins
22. Party Balloons die
23. Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangles
24. Rug Block Pattern die
25. Pattern cutting scissors

Thanks a bunch for your time! I hope my tutorial has been helpful and that I have inspired you to create! I would love to read your comments!

Happy Crafting! ♥

5 thoughts on “Shaker card using background die”

Leave a Reply

